Mad River Rocks!

What the? Thats what I thought when I had the incredible fortune to pass through some rare country in the Middle Mad River. Out of no where this rock shoots up from the river.

What the? Thats what I thought when I had the incredible fortune to pass through some rare country in the Middle Mad River. Out of nowhere this rock shoots up from the river.

No Name. At least no white man name on the map. It barley appears on the map, and grossly underestimates its prominence.  I made a gross estimate with my laser; 285 ft from the top to the bottom.

No Name. At least no white man name on the map. In fact it barley appears on the map, and grossly underestimates its prominence. I made a gross estimate with my laser; 285 ft from the top to the bottom.

I am wondering if that white spot is a nest. Or whitewash from a nest above it. This is excellent peregrine falcon habitat.

I am wondering if that white spot is a nest. Or whitewash from a nest above it. This is excellent peregrine falcon habitat.

Of course I had terrible light (as usual). If Im lucky Ill have a second chance! But you just dont get the full feeling without the stiched version.

Of course I had terrible light (as usual). If Im lucky Ill have a second chance! But you just dont get the full feeling without the stiched version.

6 comments

  1. Where, in a roundabout way, is that location? My dad talked about seeing a rock tower like that. He described it in a manner that shows in your photographs. But, somewhere in my mind I thought he was discussing an area somewhere around the East Fork of the North Fork of the Trinity River. And, I assumed he was talking about a cinder cone. Up above Helena or so. But I know he was in awe of the rock tower he had seen in the back country. Are you on the Salyer-Mad River Road? That is a very amazing find and great photos to boot.

      1. It just goes to show, there are incredible natural discoveries out in those still unexplored parts of our region.
        Thanks for allowing me to see them from the comfort of my desk.

  2. Nice find, I’ve never seen that before. I’ve had a lot more opportunities this winter to be exploring western Trinity and eastern Humboldt this winter with no snow. I’ll have to ride over that way and check out, thanks.

Leave a Reply

