Shoe Tree

VAN 113

The Shoe Tree. This uncommon variety springs strings up from time to time in across the country side. This one is on Highway 36, and if you spend any time driving over McClellan Mountain you know this tree. There used to another one, just a few miles west of here. It was close to the house that has the big wagon wheel set into wall above the driveway. I picked up a kid hitch hiking once years ago who lived there. He told me his dad started it, but eventually decided to cut it down as it became too much of a “thing”. He told me the final straw was noticing some ice skates in the tree. Well, now the legend lives on, in a place were the falling fruit is less likely to hurt anyone…

VAN 114
2 comments

  1. There is another shoe tree on 36 on the east side of the mountains closer to Red Bluff. I have put boots in both of these trees and always smile when I pass by.

    1. I believe I have seen that one, but its been awhile. I also remember seeing one on the 395 near Reno and few in rural OR and WA from when I was younger, but dont really remember where.

Leave a Reply

