Hunting Season

As much as I like to think that certain forest roads are “mine”, I accept that other people come to the woods – other than forest workers – which tends to be during hunting season. Ive been on USFS Route 1 allot this year and during deer season it goes from seeing absolutely no one to seeing dozens of people a day. Private ranch patrols are out and all the little hunting camps are suddenly occupied with tents or trailers. Good Luck!

MR 724

One of dozens of hunters camps along South Fork Mountain.

I am not a hunter. I have no qualms over the idea however and am always grateful when I have the opportunity to eat deer. But for people who apparently ‘love the woods’, I will never understand all the trash that gets left behind. A minority of hunters Im sure are responsible for really ‘not givin a shit’ – but I think we need more boy/girl scouts. My mama always taught me to leave the woods cleaner than it was when you arrived. Pack it out boys!

MR 725

Come on guys, your giving everyone else a bad name. Dont trash your forest!

3 comments

  1. I know how you feel. We are located within three hours of a large city (Calgary) and campsites like you depict in your post are common place. I waver from anger to frustration. It absolutely mystifies me the thought process of some of these folks. You are correct, most of the hunters/tourists are responsible people who just want to enjoy the outdoors. Sadly, in our neck of the woods, it keeps getting worse with each passing year.

Leave a Reply

